Merton Council Cabinet Agenda

Membership

Councillors:

Stephen Alambritis (Chair) Mark Allison Caroline Cooper-Marbiah Nick Draper Andrew Judge Edith Macauley MBE Maxi Martin Judy Saunders Martin Whelton

Date: Monday 16 June 2014

Time: 19:15

Venue: Committee rooms B, C & D - Merton Civic Centre, London Road, Morden SM4 5DX

This is a public meeting and attendance by the public is encouraged and welcomed. For more information about the agenda please contact <u>democratic.services@merton.gov.uk</u> or telephone <u>020 8545 3361</u>.

All Press contacts: press@merton.gov.uk, 020 8545 3181

Cabinet Agenda 16 June 2014

- 1. Apologies for absence
- Declarations of Pecuniary Interest
 Minutes of the previous meeting 1 2
 Exclusion of the public
 Merton Abbey Primary School expansion 3 6
 Dundonald Primary School Expansion To Follow

Note on declarations of interest

Members are advised to declare any Disclosable Pecuniary Interest in any matter to be considered at the meeting. If a pecuniary interest is declared they should withdraw from the meeting room during the whole of the consideration of that mater and must not participate in any vote on that matter. If members consider they should not participate because of a non-pecuniary interest which may give rise to a perception of bias, they should declare this, .withdraw and not participate in consideration of the item. For further advice please speak with the Assistant Director of Corporate Governance.

All minutes are draft until agreed at the next meeting of the committee/panel. To find out the date of the next meeting please check the calendar of events at your local library or online at <u>www.merton.gov.uk/committee</u>.

CABINET 4 JUNE 2014 (21:10 - 21:15)PRESENT

Councillor Stephen Alambritis (in the Chair), Councillor Mark Allison, Councillor Nick Draper, Councillor Caroline Cooper-Marbiah, Councillor Andrew Judge, Councillor Edith Macauley, Councillor Maxi Martin, Councillor Martin Whelton and Councillor Judy Saunders

Ged Curran (Chief Executive), Paul Evans (Assistant Director of Corporate Governance), Caroline Holland (Director of Corporate Services), Chris Lee (Director of Environment and Regeneration), Yvette Stanley (Director of Children, Schools and Families), Simon Williams (Director of Community and Housing), and Chris Pedlow (Senior Democratic Services Officer).

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (Agenda Item 1)

No apologies were received.

The Leader welcomed Councillor Cooper-Marbiah to the Cabinet as the New Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Health, and asked that their thanks be recorded to her predecessor Councillor Linda Kirby for all her hard work and dedication to the post.

2. DECLARATIONS OF PECUNIARY INTEREST (Agenda Item 2)

No pecuniary declarations were made.

3. MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING (Agenda Item 3)

That the Minutes of the meeting held on 23 April 2014 were agreed as a correct record

4. CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES (Agenda Item 4)

The Leader of the Council presented the report.

The Cabinet agreed there was no requirement to re-establish the Street Management Advisory Committee. It was agreed that a more localist approach to street management decisions was required, with Councillors in the wards affected by particular proposals to be consulted directly, rather than consulting Members who do not represent the relevant ward. It was noted that there will continue to be public consultation meetings in relation to appropriate local street management proposals.

RESOLVED:

That Cabinet:

a). agrees to not establish a Street Management Advisory Committee.

b). appoints Councillors Andrew Judge and Judy Saunders, along with substitute members Councillors Martin Whelton and Mark Allison, to the South West London Joint Waste Management Committee.

c). approves the new terms of reference and functions of the South West London Joint Waste Management Committee that being:

To advise the Cabinet on the South London Joint Waste Management Committee whose primary function is to make arrangements for the disposal of waste, provide places for the deposit sand disposal of waste and to advise the Participating Councils on the delivery and separation of waste. The Participating Councils are the London Boroughs of Merton, Croydon and Sutton and the Royal Borough of Kingston. The specific functions of the Committee are set out in Schedule 1 of the Constitution of the Committee operating under the name of the South London Waste Partnership.

d). appoints Councillors Andrew Judge and Judy Saunders to the Wandle Valley Trust Board

e). agrees to delegate to the Chief Executive the authority to fill vacancies on the South West London Joint Waste Management Committee and Wandle Valley Trust Board, on the nomination of the Party Whip of the group with a vacant position

Agenda Item 5

Document is Restricted

This page is intentionally left blank